John Bower

Contact details
Address: School of Chemistry
  University of Bristol
  Bristol, BS8 1TS, UK.
Telephone: +44 (0)117 928 9933

Career summary (full curriculum vitae)

2017 – present Professor of Chemistry, University of Bristol.
2016 – 2017 Reader in Organic Chemistry, University of Bristol.
2015 – 2016 Senior Research Fellow/Senior Lecturer, University of Bristol.
2014 – 2015 Proleptic Lectureship, University of Bristol.
2010 – 2018 Royal Society University Research Fellow, University of Bristol.
2008 – 2010 Postdoctoral Associate, University of Oxford (T. J. Donohoe).
2007 – 2008 Postdoctoral Associate, University of Texas at Austin (M. J. Krische).
2003 – 2007 PhD, University of Bristol (T. Gallagher).
1999 – 2003 MSci (Hons., 1st class), University of Bristol.

John Bower obtained his MSci degree in Chemistry in 2003 from the University of Bristol. He then remained at Bristol to study for his PhD degree (2007) under the guidance of Professor Timothy Gallagher. During this time his research focused on the development of cyclic sulfamidate based N-heterocyclic methodologies and their application to natural product synthesis. His first postdoctoral appointment (2007-2008) was with Professor Michael Krische at the University of Texas at Austin where he investigated transfer hydrogenative strategies for carbonyl addition. He then undertook a second postdoctoral appointment with Professor Timothy Donohoe at the University of Oxford where he focussed on the use of olefin cross metathesis for heteroaryl synthesis. In 2010, he was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship and commenced his independent career at the University of Bristol. The group’s research interests lie broadly within the area of asymmetric catalysis with a particular focus on metal-catalysed processes and their application to heterocyclic chemistry. A special emphasis is placed on the development of green processes (i.e. atom economy, step economy and selectivity).                                               

Awards, Prizes and Fellowships

2019 European Research Council (ERC) “Consolidator” Investigator
2016 Philip Leverhulme Prize
Announced in The Times on October 22, 2016
2015 Royal Society of Chemistry Hickinbottom Award and associated Briggs Scholarship
Highlighted in Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2015, 54, 11609
2014 European Research Council (ERC) “Starter” Investigator
2014 Junior Scientists’ Programme Fellowship of the 49th Bürgenstock Conference
2013 Royal Society of Chemistry and Brazilian Meeting on Organic Synthesis Young Investigator Award
2013 Royal Society of Chemistry Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize
Highlighted in Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2013, 52, 9890
2013 Thieme Chemistry Journal Award
2010 Royal Society University Research Fellowship
2010 EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship (declined)
2005 Syngenta Postgraduate Scholarship in Organic Chemistry
2003 Mike Rothwell Prize from the University of Bristol